Water Week

EWN Publishing

Over 300 NSW, Victoria, NSW towns face water restriction and water-carting under Ministers Armageddon dust-bowl plan

Posted by waterweek on 4 October 2007

The Murray-Darling Basin Dry Inflow Contingency Planning Report to First Ministers ;lists Town-by-town contingency planning as “A detailed list of towns potentially moving onto no outdoor use restrictions from 1 July 2007. All states confirm that town-by-town contingency planning frameworks are now in place and are evolving as new issues and situations arise. Public information on affected towns is being made available via State Government web sites”.

Towns affected:(surrounding smaller towns also affected but may not be listed):
Victoria, North East Water: River Murray, Bellbridge, Rutherglen, Tallangatta, Wodonga, Yarrawonga, King River, Moyhu, Oxley, Ovens River, Wangaratta, Broken Ck, Devenish, St James, Tungamah, Mitta Mitta River, Dartmouth, Coliban, Bendigo, Castlemaine, Kyneton, Heathcote;

Coliban Rural, Coliban: Murray System, Echuca, Cohuna, Gunbower, Leitchville, Coliban: Goulburn System, Boort, Lockington;

Coliban: Other, Dingee, Mitiamo, Mysia, Macorna, Pyramid Hill, Rochester;Campaspe River, Axedale, Goornong,Loddon River, Bealiba, Laanecoorie, Tarnagulla, Bridgwater, Inglewood, Serpentine, Jarklin;

Goulburn Valley Water: Goulburn, System, Alexandra, Bonnie Doon, Colbinabbin, Corop, Dookie, Eildon, Girgarre, Katandra West, Kyabram, Merrigum, Mooroopna, Murchison, Nagambie, Rushworth, Seymour, Avenel, Tallarook, Goulburn Valley Water:, Shepparton, Mooroopna, Tallygaroopna, Toolamba, Stanhope, Tatura, Page 14 Of 16, Tongala, Goulburn Valley Water: Murray, System, Barmah, Cobram, Katamatite, Nathalia, Numurkah, Wunghnu, Picola;

Lower Murray Water: Mildura, Red Cliffs, Robinvale, Piangil, Swan Hill, Murrabit, Koondrook, Kerang;

Grampians Wimmera: Mallee, Water, Northern Mallee Pipeline System, Chillingollah,, Chinkapook,, Managatang,, Lalbert,, Nandaly,, Ouyen,, Pathewollock,, Sea Lake,, Speed,, Tempy,, Ultima,, Underbool,, Waitchie,, Walpeup, Waranga West Channel, Berriwillock, Culgoa, Nullawil, Woomelang, Lascelles, Wycheproof, Birchip, Hopetoun, Beulah.

New South Wales, Murray River: Albury, Lake Hume Village, Euston, Berrigan, Finley, Tocumwal, Barooga, Hume Villages, Howlong, Mathoura, Corowa, Mulwala, Barham, Tooleybuc, Wakool, Moama, Wentworth, Dareton, Buronga, Gol Gol, Edward River, Deniliquin, Moulamein.

Murrumbidgee River, Goldenfields Water County Council, (Over 50 Communities Including:), Junee, Temora, West Wyalong, Coolamon, Cootamundra, Yenda, Griffith, Hanwood, Goolgowi, Colleambally, Gundagai, Hay, Darlington Point, Leeton, Balranald, Yanco, Wagga Wagga, Billabong Creek, Jerilderie, Culcairn, South Australia,LTowns Supplied With River Murray, Water – Adelaide, Alford, Angaston, Appila, Ardrossan, Arthurton, Auburn, Balaklava, Balhannah, Barmera, Belvidere, Berri, Birdwood, Blakiston, Blanchetown, Blyth, Booborowie, Booleroo Centre, Bower, Bowmans, Bridgewater, Brinkworth, Brukunga, Burra, Bute, Cadell, Callington, Caltowie, Cambrai, Charleston, Clare, Clarendon, Clayton, Clinton, Cobdogla, Cockatoo Valley, Coobowie, Coomandook, Coonalpyn, Crafers, Crystal Brook, Culburra, Curramulka, Dawesley, Dublin, Eden Valley, Edithburgh, Eudundafarrell Flat, Freeling, Georgetown, Gladstone, Greenock, Gulnare, Gumeracha, Hahndorf, Halbury, Hamley Bridge, Hampden, Heathfield, Houghton, Hoyleton, Iron Knob, Jamestown, Jervois, Kadina, Kalbeeba, Kanmantoo, Kapunda, Karoonda, Keith, Kersbrook, Keyneton, Ki Ki, Kingston, Koolunga, Kybunga, Laura, Lenswood, Littlehampton, Lobethal, Lochiel, Loxton, Lyndoch, Maitland, Mallala, Mannum, Mantung, Marrabel, Meningie, Merriton, Milang, Minlaton, Moculta, Monteith, Moonta, Moorook, Morgan, Mount Barker, Mount Mary, Mount Pleasant, Mount Torrens, Mundoora, Murray Bridge, Mypolonga, Nairne, Napperby, Narridy, Narrung, Neeta-cowirra, Nuriootpa, Oakbank, Owen, Palmer, Paringa, Paskeville, Pata, Peak Spring, Peterborough, Pine Point, Point Pass, Pompoota, Port Augusta, Port Broughton, Port Germein, Port Hughes, Port Parham, Port Pirie, Port Victoria, Port Vincent, Port Wakefield, Price, Redbanks, Redhill, Renmark, Rhynie, Riverton, Robertstown, Roseworthy, Rowland Flat, Saddleworth, Salt Creek, Sedan, Seppeltsfield, Sherlock, Snowtown, South Kilkerran, Spalding, Springton, Stansbury, Stirling North, Stockport, Stockwell, Strathalbyn, Sutherlands, Swan Reach, Tailem Bend, Tanunda, Tarlee, Templers.

Murray-Darling Basin Dry Inflow Contingency Planning Overview Report to First Ministers September 2007. This is the third Murray-Darling Basin (MDB) Dry Inflow Overview Report to the Prime Minister, the Premiers of New South Wales (NSW), Victoria and South Australia, and the Chief Minister of the Australian Capital Territory (ACT). The first and second Overview Reports and the June 2007 update on MDB inflows are available on the Department of the Environment and Water Resources’ web site (www.environment.gov.au).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: